The Highcrest Academy

our staff team

"Staff feel very well supported by senior leaders. According to staff, they feel valued because senior leaders are approachable. They respond positively when staff raise issues with them. Staff and senior leaders work together to find solutions, particularly if staff are concerned about their workload.” Ofsted 2020

From our canteen, our office, our site team, our technicians, our pastoral support team and our teachers … our staff are our most valuable resource. At Highcrest, we believe in team ethic and the power of the team, in fact, it’s central to everything that we do. Everybody, no matter what their position in our team, has a vital role to play in the future and success of our Academy, and a vital role to play in the future success of our students.

Staff List - December 2023



Mr G Burke


Mrs G Weldon

Senior Vice Principal

Mr N Stocking

Vice Principal (Curriculum & Assessment)

Mr P Shaw

Assistant Headteacher (Behaviour & Attitudes)

Mrs C To Assistant Headteacher (Personal Development & Wellbeing)
Mr J Clarke Assistant Headteacher (Teaching & Learning)
Mr D Mizera Assistant Headteacher (Training, EAL & Pupil Premium)

Mrs S Macbeth

Business Manager


Mrs A Afshari English Teacher
Mrs L Amos Drama Teacher / Head of Learning Year 7

Mr S Barrett

RE Teacher / Head of Houses

Mr R Bentini Science Teacher
Miss E Bibet French & Art Teacher / Head of Kahlo
Miss S Biggs Health & Social Care & Sociology Teacher
Mrs A Bingham Music Teacher / Head of Sixth Form
Mr M Botha Business & Geography Teacher
Miss H Budd Second in Maths
Mrs C Chapman English Teacher / Literacy Co-ordinator
Miss S Colmenero 
Spanish Teacher/ Head of Pele
Ms C Coutain Head of Dept (Technology) 
Mr A Croci Maths Teacher

Mr N Dale

Head of Dept (Maths)

Mr L Dunn
Construction, History & Uniformed Protective Services Teacher
Ms S Elias Business Teacher
Miss C Ellison English Teacher
Ms E Foley Business Teacher
Mr B Geddes Maths Teacher / Head of Turing
Mrs R Gladwell History Teacher / Head of Learning Year 8
Miss S Guico Science Teacher
Miss C Hall
Hair & Beauty Teacher / Head of Edhi
Mrs M Harris Head of Dept (Science)

Mrs C Hillary

Humanities Teacher / Deputy Head of Sixth Form

Mrs P Holt Computer Science, Esports & IT Teacher
Mrs K Holyoake-Lloyd
Head of Dept (Performing Arts)
Mr K Hutchinson Food Technology Teacher
Mr A Jones Music Teacher / Head of Ali

Miss A Jordan

Head of Dept (Humanities)

Mr J Kendrick

PE Teacher

Mr B Kochhar

Maths Teacher

Miss G LeClair

Geography Teacher

Miss S Leonard

Science Teacher & Challenge Co-ordinator

Mrs C Lund

Head of Dept (MFL)

Mrs E Luterek

Humanities Teacher

Mr W Mahmood

2nd in Science

Miss A McKellican

PE Teacher / Senior Head of Learning Year 9

Mr A Merrick Senior Head of Department
Ms L Moodley Science Teacher
Mr K Nawaz Science Teacher / Head of Armstrong
Miss E Newberry 2nd in PE
Mrs S Norville Head of Dept (Art, Fashion & Photography)
Ms J Osborne Business Teacher
Miss C Payne Humanities Teacher / Lead Practitioner

Dr R Platten

Maths Teacher

Miss E Prior Technology Teacher
Miss A Richardson 2nd in English
Mrs C Rider
Head of Dept (PE)
Mrs D Rowberry 2nd in Humanities
Miss M Ruis Azancot Spanish Teacher
Miss S Sanghera
Art & Photography Teacher / Head of Parks

Mr L Sargeant

PE Teacher

Mr G Sharma

Maths Teacher

Miss F Silva

Maths Teacher / Lead Practitioner

Miss G Spencer Head of Dept (Business & IT)
Mr H Tahir Head of Dept (EAL)
Mr M Tait Head of Dept (English) 
Mr D Tate PE Teacher / Head of Learning Year 10
Mr W Theobald
Technology Teacher / Head of Learning Year 9
Mrs M Van Huyssteen Science Teacher
Mrs J Weston Business & Computer Science Teacher

Mr T Wise

History Teacher

Mr M Woods
Business & Esports Teacher
Mr W Younis
Computer Science Teacher


Mrs P Aldus
Mrs A Bokhari Learning Support Assistant
Mrs S Charlesworth SENCo
Mrs G Cheyney Learning Support Assistant
Mr A Dean SEND Teacher
Mr M Edwards Learning Support Assistant
Mrs J El Hayek Learning Support Assistant
Mrs K Hernandez Learning Support Assistant
Mrs S Keshau Learning Support Assistant
Mrs D King Learning Support Assistant
Mrs R Miller Learning Support Assistant
Ms K Moss Learning Support Assistant
Ms H Muzammal Learning Support Assistant
Mrs N Nausheen Learning Support Assistant
Miss T Owen Learning Support Assistant
Mrs Y Pearce
Learning Support Assistant
Ms N Saif Learning Support Assistant
Mrs P Sharma Learning Support Assistant
Mr M Weekes Higher Level Teaching Assistant
Mrs H Vaddiraju Higher Level Teaching Assistant


Mrs L Amos Head of Learning (Year 7)
Assistant Head of Learning (Year 7)
Mrs R Gladwell Head of Learning (Year 8)
Mr A White Assistant Head of Learning (Year 8)
Mr W Theobald
Head of Learning (Year 9)
Miss A Watson
Assistant Head of Learning (Year 9) / Forest School Practitioner / Student Experiences Co-ordinator
Miss A McKellican Senior Head of Learning (Year 10)
Mrs J Harwood
Assistant Head of Learning (Year 10)
Mr D Tate Head of Learning (Year 11)
Ms K Welsh Assistant Head of Learning (Year 11)
Mrs A Bingham Head of Sixth Form
Mrs P Hillary Deputy Head of Sixth Form
Mrs K Wildey Assistant Head of Learning (Sixth Form)/ Careers Lead


Mrs J Folkard Mental Health Co-ordinator
Ms V May Child Protection Officer
Miss L Newsholme
Inclusion Key Worker

Ms V Sutton

Isolated Support Facilitator


Miss E Jurczyk Cover Supervisor
Mr C Lewis  Cover Supervisor


Mrs S Ali Receptionist/Administrator
Mrs C Bridges Finance Accountant
Miss L Cook
Finance Assistant

Mrs J Haddow

Finance Officer

Mrs C Hardaker

Communication & Admin Officer

Mrs P Harnett


Mrs J Hunt Attendance Officer

Miss T Jackson


Ms N Jeffers

Reprographics Assistant

Mrs A Papworth

PA to SLT/Office Manager

Mrs J Sparrowhawk Data Manager
Ms S Stinton
Exams Assistant
Mrs S Stokes Admin & HR Assistant

Miss C Thompson

Attendance Admin Assistant

Mrs T Webb

Exams Officer

Mrs K Wildey

Careers Lead


Mr S Ball
Mr M Drewitt

Residential Facilities Manager

Mr M Jordan


Mr P Philips


Mr N Tilbury



Mr D Barnes Engineering & DT Technician
Mr C Chan

Science Technician

Ms A Clark

Reprographics Technician

Mr A Jones Senior IT Technician
Miss S Powell Technology Technician
Mrs S Prince Art & Graphics Technician
Mrs M Raveendra Science Technician

Mr W Younis

Network Manager


Mrs K Gomme

Midday Supervisor

Ms N Jeffers

Midday Supervisor